Since 2018 I have been the Professor of Law, Medicine, and Technology at the University of Birmingham Law School. From 2015 to 2018 I held the first Chair in Law, Innovation, and Society at Newcastle University Law School. I joined Newcastle from the University of Bristol where I was a Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Ethics and Law at the Centre for Ethics in Medicine. Prior to that I worked at the University of Manchester’s Centre for Social Ethics and Policy in the School of Law where I was a Lecturer in Bioethics and before that a Research Fellow in Bioethics and Law.

In a previous life I was a medical doctor where I worked in General Medicine and A&E. I have also worked as a Screening Physician for a phase I clinical trials company.

While working at the School of Law at the University of Manchester I undertook my PhD research and completed this in 2011. I gained my MB ChB and qualified from the Manchester/St. Andrews medical course in 2003. I completed an Intercalated BSc in Health Care Ethics and Law in 2002 with first class honours, and in 2006 finished a Masters in this area receiving a distinction.

I won the 2012 Mark S. Ehrenreich Prize in Healthcare Ethics Research. The prize is awarded bi-annually at the International Association of Bioethics World Congress for a completed but not yet published research paper. It is awarded by the Pacific Center for Health Policy and Ethics at the University of Southern California, in conjunction with the International Association of Bioethics. In 2012 I was also awarded the Postgraduate Research Student of the Year award by the School of Law at Manchester.As an undergraduate in 2002 I won the Sir David Alliance Prize for Health Care Ethics and Law.

I was appointed to the Editorial Board of Medical Law International in 2017. Previously I have been an Associate Editor for the Journal of Medical Ethics (2013-16), a member of the the UK Donation Ethics Committee (2012-16), the Chair of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry Research Ethics Committee at the University of Bristol (2014-15), and vice-chair of the North-West e-Health governance committee (2009-2013).